Adtherealworldus.com is an independent affiliate. We may earn a commission if you join. Affiliate disclosure

Join now
  1. Home
  2. Articles
  3. Pricing

Do You Need Money to Start The Real World? Costs Beyond $99

Do you need money to start The Real World? It says three campuses need no money to start, but AI tools, hosting and ads can add costs on top of the $99 fee.

Official The Real World Ecommerce campus banner with an orange globe over an illustrated warehouse aisle of boxes

Direct answer

Do you need money to start The Real World? You need the membership, and The Real World says some campuses need nothing more: its home page FAQ says several "need no money to start, because you sell a skill instead of a product, such as: Client Acquisition, Strategic Marketing and AI Automation." The Real World is an online learning platform, formerly called Hustlers University, and its Conquer membership cost $99 a month or $996 a year on the official checkout on September 12, 2026. The person behind this site, a member since 2022, sees it differently in practice. In his experience every campus needs some spending: AI subscriptions such as ChatGPT, Claude or Gemini are heavily recommended, website-based businesses need hosting, anything you sell needs ads, and design costs money unless you do it yourself with AI. The Real World pairs Ecommerce with a small budget, and the crypto campuses need your own capital, which is at risk. His advice to anyone without spare money: probably hold off.

“Do I need money to start?” is one of the first things people ask about The Real World, usually alongside “and how much time will it take?” The Real World is an online learning platform, formerly called Hustlers University, where one membership opens every campus. This page sets out what the membership covers, what The Real World itself says about starting with no money, and what a long-time member has actually found costs extra. For the bigger question of whether it’s worth paying for at all, see the review of whether The Real World is worth it.

What does the $99 membership cover?

The membership covers the platform itself. On the official checkout on September 12, 2026, the Conquer plan cost $99 a month, or $996 a year, which the checkout labels 17% off (it saves $192 against twelve monthly payments). Conquer includes every campus, so there is no separate charge for each one, and no setup fee was shown. The full price guide covers both plans and why other sites quote different figures. There is no free trial either; the free trial question is answered separately.

What the membership doesn’t cover is anything the business you start needs to run: software, hosting, ads, stock or money to invest. That spending is yours, and it is where the “no money” question gets more complicated.

Which campuses does The Real World say need no money?

Three. The official home page FAQ answers the question “I have no experience, no money and not much time. Is this for me?” with “That is exactly who it was built for,” and goes on:

“Every campus starts from zero and assumes you know nothing. Several need no money to start, because you sell a skill instead of a product, such as: Client Acquisition, Strategic Marketing and AI Automation.”

The Real World home page FAQ, checked September 14, 2026

The official courses page says the same thing in its answer to “Which campus should I start with?”: “No capital and a few hours a day: Client Acquisition, Strategic Marketing or AI Automation, because they sell a skill instead of a product. A small budget and an interest in products: Ecommerce. An interest in markets: Crypto.”

So, by The Real World’s own labels, the skill-selling campuses need no starting capital, Ecommerce needs a small budget, and crypto needs money of your own. The guide to every campus explains what each one teaches.

What does it really cost beyond $99?

The person behind this site has been a member since 2022, starting on Hustlers University and moving across to The Real World. His experience differs from the official labels: he thinks every campus needs some form of money to get started, and he wouldn’t call any of them free to put into practice. The table puts the two views side by side.

Campus The Real World’s label Extra costs that can come up
Strategic Marketing (formerly Copywriting) No capital: sells a skill AI tool subscriptions
Client Acquisition No capital: sells a skill AI tool subscriptions; web hosting if you build websites for clients
AI Automation No capital: sells a skill AI tool subscriptions and the other tools you build with
Ecommerce “A small budget and an interest in products” Stock or samples, a store and hosting, ads, AI tools
Content Creation + AI Not stated AI tool subscriptions; a phone or computer
Business Mastery Not stated AI tool subscriptions; ads for anything you sell
Crypto Investing, Crypto Trading, Crypto Altcoins “An interest in markets” Your own capital, which is at risk

Labels from the official home and courses pages, checked September 14, 2026. The extra costs are the owner’s experience plus what each business model involves. The Real World publishes no figures for them.

What are the hidden costs?

These are the costs the owner has seen come up, most often first:

  1. AI subscriptions. He calls AI tools such as ChatGPT, Claude and Gemini heavily recommended, because the campuses teach you to use AI as leverage. Each of them sells paid plans. Check the current price on each tool’s own pricing page, since it isn’t listed here.
  2. Web hosting. Any website-based business needs it, from an online store to sites built for clients.
  3. Ads. Anything you sell needs people to see it, and that usually means paying for advertising.
  4. Design. You pay someone for it, or you do it yourself with AI.
  5. Stock. Ecommerce involves products, samples and the money tied up in them.
  6. Capital for the crypto campuses. Investing or trading means putting your own money into a market, where it can be lost. Nothing on this site is investment advice.

None of these is charged by The Real World. They are the running costs of whatever you decide to build.

How much time a day does it take?

The official home page FAQ says: “A few focused hours a day is enough to make progress.” The owner gives more detail from his own experience, as a view and not a promise:

  • At the start: 3 to 6 hours a day would be ideal, and 1 to 3 hours a day is workable.
  • Once a business is running: the time can drop to 1 to 3 hours a week, because there are fewer big changes to make.

The start is the heaviest part. Nobody publishes how long it takes to reach the second stage, and there’s no guarantee a business gets there at all.

What is the membership really paying for?

In the owner’s view, people misunderstand what the $99 buys. The lessons matter, but what he says members are really paying for is the community and the momentum it creates. Ordinary members post their real progress in the chats, including the setbacks: the ad spend that didn’t work, the weeks with nothing to show. A YouTuber has an incentive to showcase the good parts. A member who pays for the same membership and follows the same lessons doesn’t.

Seeing many ordinary people move forward, and seeing that they hit the same problems, is what he says removes the doubt and keeps you going when it gets hard. An AI tool can teach you, in his words, but it can’t show you real people’s progress or motivate you to keep going.

Who should wait?

The owner is direct about it: “if anybody doesn’t have spare money, then probably hold off.” For someone with an interest but no budget, he sees learning with AI on its own as one of the easiest and cheapest ways to start understanding what’s possible. It just won’t give you the community.

Waiting also makes sense if:

  • you would need the membership to pay for itself quickly, because nothing guarantees that it will;
  • you are drawn to the crypto campuses but can’t afford to lose the money you would put in;
  • you can’t find at least an hour or so a day, most days, for the first months.

When this doesn’t apply

  • The official labels can change. They were checked on September 14, 2026. Confirm them on the official courses page before choosing a campus.
  • The owner’s view is one member’s experience. Some members may start a skill-selling campus with very little spending. Others will spend more than the costs listed here.
  • Tool prices change. Check each AI tool’s official pricing page for the current figure.
  • There is no guaranteed outcome. The Terms of Use say: “NEL does not guarantee that use of the Subscriptions will result in any particular financial, business or commercial outcome.”
  • Under 18? Different rules apply. See how old you have to be to join The Real World.

For the full picture of who The Real World suits and who it doesn’t, read the honest review of whether it’s worth it.

What to do next

Compare the campuses before you pay, starting with the three The Real World lists as needing no capital: Strategic Marketing, Client Acquisition and AI Automation. The courses page shows every campus in one place.

Related questions

Do you need money to start The Real World?

You need the membership: $99 a month or $996 a year on the Conquer plan (official checkout, September 12, 2026). The Real World says Client Acquisition, Strategic Marketing and AI Automation need no money to start. The person behind this site finds that every campus needs some spending, such as AI tool subscriptions.

Which The Real World campuses need no money?

The official courses page lists Client Acquisition, Strategic Marketing and AI Automation for people with "no capital and a few hours a day", because they sell a skill instead of a product. It pairs Ecommerce with a small budget and the crypto campuses with an interest in markets.

How many hours a day do you need for The Real World?

The official home page says a few focused hours a day is enough to make progress. The person behind this site thinks 3 to 6 hours a day is ideal at the start, and 1 to 3 hours a day is workable. That is his view, not a promise.

Can you start The Real World with no money at all?

Not really, because the membership itself costs $99 a month. The person behind this site advises anyone without spare money to probably hold off, and sees learning with AI on its own as a cheaper way to start understanding a business idea.

Sources

  1. The Real World home page FAQ: I have no experience, no money and not much time — checked September 14, 2026
  2. The Real World courses page FAQ: Which campus should I start with? — checked September 14, 2026
  3. The Real World official checkout (plans and prices) — checked September 12, 2026
  4. The Real World Terms of Use: no guaranteed outcome — checked September 14, 2026
The Real World logo
therealworldus.com Marketing TeamIndependent site, run by a member of Hustlers University and The Real World since 2022

therealworldus.com is an independent site about The Real World, run by New Age Endeavour Ltd. It is not operated by The Real World or New Era Learning LLC. Articles are written from official sources and the experience of a member since 2022, and are updated when prices or plans change.

Changelog

  • : Published.